A day without road fatalities in Europe – DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE is on tour for safer roads

The third European Day without a Road Death (EDWARD) will be held on 19 September 2018. A day without a single fatality on the road is the ambitious goal of this joint project of the European Commission and the European Traffic Police Network (TISPOL). This initiative day is also all about raising awareness of dangers on the road.

Developed in 1993 by the Verband Deutscher Sektkellereien along with other associations in the German alcohol sector, the DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE (DDAD) campaign supports EDWARD with its own initiatives. After all, the aim of DDAD is to reduce the number of alcohol-related accidents and thus road fatalities.

Although there is an alcohol ban for young and new drivers in Germany, nearly 20 per cent of all drink-drivers involved in accidents are aged 18 to 24 and thus involved in alcohol-related accidents at a rate higher than average. One of the primary reasons is the driver’s overestimation of their skills. If you add alcohol to the mix, this significantly increases the risk of an accident. The DDAD Academy has been visiting vocational schools throughout Germany for several years now to convince young drivers to either leave their car at home or avoid alcohol. There the DDAD Academy team reaches a young, vehicle-oriented target group which represents a credible multiplier of the message ‘Don’t drink and drive!’

The 2018 DDAD Academy events are held in Schleswig-Holstein under the patronage of the Minister of Transport Dr Bernd Buchholz. On the European Day without a Road Death on 19 September, the DDAD Academy will visit the Eckener Schule vocational school in Flensburg. Pupils will have the opportunity to try out a new virtual reality drink-driving simulator under the direction of a specially trained team of young adults. With a simulated blood-alcohol content of 0.08, pupils will be able to experience how alcohol affects their ability to drive. The ability to see suffers, response times slow down, speeds are incorrectly estimated, and steering movements become uncoordinated. There will also be information about the effects on insurance, legal consequences and the point system of the Federal Motor Transport Authority (KBA). Further information about DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE can be found under RESPONSIBILITY.

Become a member now!

Ein Tag ohne Verkehrstote in Europa - DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE ist unterwegs für sichere Straßen

Am 19. September 2018 findet zum dritten Mal der European Day without a Road Death (EDWARD) statt. Ein ganzer Tag ohne ein einziges Opfer im Straßenverkehr ist das ehrgeizige Ziel dieses Gemeinschaftsprojektes der Europäischen Kommission und des European Traffic Police Networks (TISPOL). Zugleich geht es an diesem Aktionstag darum, das Bewusstsein für Gefahren im Straßenverkehr zu schärfen.

Auch die vom Verband Deutscher Sektkellereien gemeinsam mit anderen Verbänden der deutschen Alkoholbranche 1993 ins Leben gerufene Kampagne DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE (DADD) unterstützt EDWARD mit eigenen Aktionen. Schließlich ist es das Ziel von DDAD, die Anzahl von alkoholbedingten Unfällen, und damit von Verkehrsopfern, zu verringern.

Obwohl für junge Fahrer und Fahranfänger in Deutschland ein Alkoholverbot gilt, sind knapp 20 Prozent der alkoholisierten Unfallbeteiligen zwischen 18 und 24 Jahre alt und damit überdurchschnittlich oft an alkoholbedingten Unfällen beteiligt. Als einer der Hauptgründe gilt, dass das eigene Können am Steuer überschätzt wird. Kommt hier der Einfluss von Alkohol hinzu, steigt das Unfallrisiko deutlich. Um die jungen Verkehrsteilnehmer davon zu überzeugen, entweder auf das Auto oder auf den Alkohol zu verzichten, ist die „DDAD Academy“ seit einigen Jahren an Berufsschulen in ganz Deutschland unterwegs. Dort erreicht das Team der DDAD Academy eine junge, Kfz-affine Zielgruppe, die einen glaubwürdigen Multiplikator der Botschaft „Don’t drink and drive!“ darstellt.

Die Veranstaltungen der DDAD Academy finden 2018 in Schleswig-Holstein unter der Schirmherrschaft des Landesverkehrsministers Dr. Bernd Buchholz statt. Am European Day without a Road Death am 19. September wird die DDAD Academy die Eckener Schule in Flensburg besuchen. Die Schüler haben die Möglichkeit unter Anleitung eines speziell geschulten Teams von jungen Erwachsenen einen neuen Virtual-Reality-Trunkenheitssimulator auszuprobieren. Die Schüler erleben darin bei simulierten 0,8 Promille, wie sich Alkohol auf ihre Fahrtüchtigkeit auswirkt. Die Sehleistung nimmt ab, Reaktionszeiten verlängern sich, Geschwindigkeiten werden falsch eingeschätzt, Lenkbewegungen unkoordiniert. Zudem gibt es die Möglichkeit sich über Versicherungsfolgen, rechtliche Konsequenzen sowie das Punktesystem des Kraftfahrtbundesamtes zu informieren. Nähere Informationen zu DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE unter VERANTWORTUNG.

Jetzt Mitglied werden!